United Spec

Tony Award Winners 2022 Update List

Tony Award Winners 2022

The Tony Awards are taking place tonight at Radio City Music Hall for the first time since June 2019. The awards ceremony, which honors the plays and musicals staged on Broadway and is resuming its traditional calendar after a long pandemic disruption, honors work that opened on Broadway between Feb. 20, 2020, and May 4, 2022. (“Girl From the North Country” opened on March 5, 2020, just a week before theaters shut down for the pandemic.)

Ariana DeBose the former Broadway understudy turned Oscar winner, is hosting the three-hour broadcast portion of the Tony Awards ceremony, which starts at 8 p.m. Eastern on CBS. Presenters so far have included Jessica Chastain and Bebe Neuwirth. And there will be performances from the past year’s most prominent musicals: “A Strange Loop,” “Company,” “Girl From the North Country,” “MJ,” “Mr. Saturday Night,” “The Music Man,” “Paradise Square” and “Six.”

The CBS broadcast was preceded by a one-hour segment, hosted by Darren Criss and Julianne Hough, that began at 7 p.m. Eastern on Paramount+.

An updating list of winners is below.

Best Original Score

“Six: The Musical,” music and lyrics by Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss

Best Direction of a Play

Sam Mendes, “The Lehman Trilogy”

Best Direction of a Musical

Marianne Elliott, “Company”

Best Featured Actor in a Play

Jesse Tyler Ferguson, “Take Me Out”

Best Featured Actress in a Play

Phylicia Rashad, “Skeleton Crew”

Best Featured Actress in a Musical

Patti LuPone, “Company”

Best Scenic Design of a Play

Es Devlin, “The Lehman Trilogy”

Best Scenic Design of a Musical

Bunny Christie, “Company”

Best Costume Design of a Play

Montana Levi Blanco, “The Skin of Our Teeth”

Best Costume Design of a Musical

Gabriella Slade, “Six: The Musical”

Best Lighting Design of a Play

Jon Clark, “The Lehman Trilogy”

Best Lighting Design of a Musical

Natasha Katz, “MJ”

Best Sound Design of a Play

Mikhail Fiksel, “Dana H.”

Best Sound Design of a Musical

Gareth Owen, “MJ”

Best Choreography

Christopher Wheeldon, “MJ”

Best Orchestrations

Simon Hale, “Girl From the North Country”

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement

Angela Lansbury

Isabelle Stevenson Award

Robert E. Wankel

Regional Theater Tony Award

Cort Theater (Chicago)

Special Tony Award

James C. Nicola

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theater

Asian American Performers Action Coalition
Broadway for All
Feinstein’s/54 Below
Emily Grishman
United Scenic Artists, Local USA 829, IATSE